This is an important message requiring you to make a choice if you're based in the EU.

HTML Headings

It is very important to have different types of headings to structure the content of the web page. Headings help search engines to understand and index the structure of the web page.

Headings in an HTML document are written in heading tags. There are 6 levels of headings in HTML. The <h1> - <h6> tags are used to mark headings according to their importance. The <h1> tag stands for the most important heading of the web page and the <h6> stands for the least important and smallest one.

Use only one <h1> tag on any web page. The tag should describe what your page is about and contain a keyword, as it helps to improve rankings in Google.

The hierarchy of headings in HTML look like this:


<!DOCTYPE html>
    <title>Title of the document</title>
    <h1>This is heading 1</h1>
    <h2>This is heading 2</h2>
    <h3>This is heading 3</h3>
    <h4>This is heading 4</h4>
    <h5>This is heading 5</h5>
    <h6>This is heading 6</h6>


Do not use heading tags for making the text bold or for increasing the text size. Remember, search engines use headings to structure the content.

Do you find this helpful?

Related articles